What is a Gluten Free Diet?

Gluten is the general term for a mixture of protein fragments found in common cereal grains like wheat (including semolina, durum, spelt and kamut), oats, barley, and rye. Fabe's gluten free baked goods use only alternative flours derived from rice or almonds. The taste and textures of our products are so incredibly good you'll wonder how we did it without using wheat!

Gluten is a protein composite found in foods containing wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, malts and triticale (a hybrid grain from wheat/rye) that in certain individuals can cause a variety of allergy type symptoms, and/or serious health related conditions.

While there are many causative factors as to why an individual might have sensitivity to products that contain gluten, Celiac Disease (an auto-immune disease) is the most common reason. Some of the other related conditions that have also been identified over the years include (potentially) those with autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), auto-immune thyroid conditions (Hashimoto’s or Graves disease), microscopic colitis and certain neurological diseases.

Who says you can’t have your cake, cookies and pies – and eat them too?

If you are one of the many people affected by a gluten intolerance or sensitivity, and are looking for that perfect gluten free dessert to please your sweet tooth, Fabe’s has the answer – healthy, delicious and certified gluten free - offering one of the largest selections of naturally sweetened gluten free dessert choices!

All of Fabe's gluten free products proudly wear the Certified Gluten Free logo established by the Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG), plus our own orange gluten free placard, which further helps customers identify which of our products are gluten free.

To better understand the differences between gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity, or a wheat allergy, or sensitivity - please visit: